BLOG:CMS :: Support Forum

Support Forum for BLOG:CMS

You are not logged in.

#1 06.06.2004 14:12

dimitri
newbie...
Registered: 06.06.2004
Posts: 7
Website

Skinless page after upgrading

Hi,

I just upgraded from Nucleus 2.0 to NucleusXE. I followed the instructions and everything went well, apart from one thing: the page doesn't have a skin now (or at least it's not looking who it's supposed to look). See http://www.dimitri.org.

Here is the relevant part of the main page skin:

<head>
<%SearchHighlight%><%ExtraSkin(doctype)%><title><%blogsetting(name)%></title>
  <%ExtraSkin(meta)%>
  <%ExtraSkin(cache)%>
  <link rel='bookmark' title='your blog' href='http://yourblog.com' />
  <link rel='alternate' type='application/xml+rss' title='RSS' href='xml-rss2.php' />
  <link rel='EditURI' type='application/rsd+xml' title='RSD' href='rsd.php' />
</head>

Also, /upgrades/index.php said I had to change config.php (add a line for skins), so I did this. Was this good?

All plugins are installed.

Offline

 

#2 06.06.2004 19:21

dimitri
newbie...
Registered: 06.06.2004
Posts: 7
Website

Re: Skinless page after upgrading

I removed the ExtraSkin lines and replaced them by a link to one of the style sheets, which did help. But I still wonder why it didn't just work as default.

Offline

 

#3 06.06.2004 19:37

Radek Hulán
Site Admin
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 17.03.2004
Posts: 2509
Website

Re: Skinless page after upgrading

dimitri, there are several ways how to upgrade from 2.0 to 3.0XE. You should proceed with TYPE 3 installation. It should be as simple as filling-in a form and pressing INSTALL button.

http://hulan.info/blog/item/extreme-edi … all-manual

(ie, make a CLEAN, 3.0XE install, using a table prefix, and migrating your old data into a new blog)

Here are some other threads that shall help you:

http://hulan.info/forum/viewtopic.php?t=132
http://hulan.info/forum/viewtopic.php?t=89


--= BLOG:CMS developer =--

Offline

 

#4 06.06.2004 20:06

dimitri
newbie...
Registered: 06.06.2004
Posts: 7
Website

Re: Skinless page after upgrading

Yeah I had read those. And I'd rather not remove everyting, not want to risk losing all my items smile

Another question: the skin says:

    <%Table(mylinks,title,asc)%>
    <%ExtraSkin(rss)%>

Is that table/extraskin supposed to be installed by default?

Offline

 

#5 06.06.2004 21:18

Radek Hulán
Site Admin
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 17.03.2004
Posts: 2509
Website

Re: Skinless page after upgrading

Yeah I had read those. And I'd rather not remove everyting, not want to risk losing all my items smile

Another question: the skin says:

    <%Table(mylinks,title,asc)%>
    <%ExtraSkin(rss)%>

Is that table/extraskin supposed to be installed by default?

Aha, seems you did NOT install 3.0XE, just copied-over files, right? Well, this is NOT sufficient, you HAVE TO run install.php script, which WILL SUPPLY default values for these skins...

The docs / manual DOES say this..


--= BLOG:CMS developer =--

Offline

 

#6 07.06.2004 00:44

Radek Hulán
Site Admin
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 17.03.2004
Posts: 2509
Website

Re: Skinless page after upgrading

dimitri, it seems to be my mistake, I have changed 3.0XE few days ago, but did NOT update the installation manual, so, if you did a type 2 install, please DO run this SQL script at your database:

http://hulan.info/blog/other/sql/extreme.sql.txt
for Nucleus XE
or
http://hulan.info/blog/other/sql/light.sql.txt
for Nucleus XE Light

Sorry for that! All  should be ok after that.

rADo


--= BLOG:CMS developer =--

Offline

 

#7 07.06.2004 00:51

dimitri
newbie...
Registered: 06.06.2004
Posts: 7
Website

Re: Skinless page after upgrading


Aha, seems you did NOT install 3.0XE, just copied-over files, right? Well, this is NOT sufficient, you HAVE TO run install.php script, which WILL SUPPLY default values for these skins...

The docs / manual DOES say this..

Too late sad

After I ran the install.php script, all my items (and plugins) were gone.

After I backed up the database, they returned, and so did the old lay out.

After I installed the plugins again, errors are everywhere.

Guess I have to reinstall everything.... another time, it's too late now.

Edit: hm, somehow one last try helped to remove the errors. Now I'll try the script.

Offline

 

#8 07.06.2004 08:55

dimitri
newbie...
Registered: 06.06.2004
Posts: 7
Website

Re: Skinless page after upgrading

The script helped! Everything seems fine now. Thanks!

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson

TOPlist