BLOG:CMS :: Support Forum

Support Forum for BLOG:CMS

You are not logged in.

#1 28.01.2005 17:18

Scott Ott
newbie...
Registered: 28.01.2005
Posts: 5

Does Gallery Use Admin Login?

I'm trying to create a gallery and the gallery login doesn't recognize the username/password I use for my BlogCMS admin. Is there a separate username/password pair for the gallery, or do I have to enable something somewhere?

Admin message:
  An error occurred: Username and/or password incorrect

Scott
scottott@scrappleface.com

Last edited by Scott Ott (28.01.2005 17:25)

Offline

 

#2 28.01.2005 19:21

Scott Ott
newbie...
Registered: 28.01.2005
Posts: 5

Re: Does Gallery Use Admin Login?

I have found that I could login with
username: admin
password: password

I then created a new user with admin privileges.

Now, I'm trying to figure out how to create a new gallery that isn't a subdirectory of the Siemens gallery.

Offline

 

#3 28.01.2005 19:31

Chris..S
BLOG:CMS Senior
Registered: 14.01.2005
Posts: 78

Re: Does Gallery Use Admin Login?

I couldn't figure that out.  I gave up and created the directory directly on the web server.  Create a new directory in /photo/galleries and it should automatically show up as a new gallery

e.g.

/photo/galleries/my-new-gallery

Offline

 

#4 03.02.2005 02:54

Chris..S
BLOG:CMS Senior
Registered: 14.01.2005
Posts: 78

Re: Does Gallery Use Admin Login?

update...

gallery uses a separate file for users, /photo/data/users.csv.php

I am having problems using gallery's inbuilt user admin functions, I am guessing that the $_REQUEST variable it uses for user name ('user') is also used by  BLOG:CMS.

How to add/modify users the slow way.
- open the users.csv.php file in a text editor with word wrap off (e.g. notepad, textpad, nano)
- copy an existing line and paste it at the bottom.
- change the values of the fields as you wish (they are described in the top line of the file).
- to alter a password, get the md5() value of the password and paste it over the top of the current password.  For those comfortable dealing with mysql directly - SELECT md5(somepassword) - will get you the md5 hash of a password.

Last edited by Chris..S (03.02.2005 02:56)

Offline

 

#5 03.02.2005 03:43

Chris..S
BLOG:CMS Senior
Registered: 14.01.2005
Posts: 78

Re: Does Gallery Use Admin Login?

another update ...

I replaced all occurrences of $_REQUEST["user"] with $_REQUEST["zzUser"]
- photo/admin.php (3)
- photo/includes/admin.class.php (6)
- photo/templates/admin_default/edituser.tpl.php (3)

I replaced the "user" form variables and link queries with "zzUser"
- photo/templates/admin_default/edituser.tpl.php (1) on line 6
- photo/templates/admin_default/manageusers.tpl.php (4) on lines 19,20,21 & 32
- photo/templates/admin_default/menu.tpl.php (1) on line 8

I can now create and edit users.  All seems fine with the rest of the app, although it is early days. smile

Last edited by Chris..S (03.02.2005 03:44)

Offline

 

#6 07.09.2005 10:37

nkannan
BLOG:CMS Senior
Registered: 06.09.2005
Posts: 62

Re: Does Gallery Use Admin Login?

Chris: I did most of the corrections as you mentioned except in photo/templates/admin_default/menu.tpl.php . I do not see any 'user' in line 8. Are you sure, you refer to the correct file. If so, could you kindly explain what 'exactly' the correction.

With all modifications done, I still have problems with 'managing user' account. I can add a user but cant delete or suspend. Where is the problem?


Eager to learn

Offline

 

#7 11.09.2005 16:54

Chris..S
BLOG:CMS Senior
Registered: 14.01.2005
Posts: 78

Re: Does Gallery Use Admin Login?

I have redone this.  It looks like there have been changes to Singapore Gallery since I made the initial post.  The change counts are now:

$_REQUEST["user"]  to $_REQUEST["zzUser"]
- photo/admin.php (3)
- photo/includes/admin.class.php (7)
- photo/templates/admin_default/edituser.tpl.php (2)

Changing form variables names of "user" to "zzUser"
- photo/templates/admin_default/edituser.tpl.php (1) on line 6
- photo/templates/admin_default/manageusers.tpl.php (4) on lines 19,20,21 & 32

I did these changes and was able to carry out all manage user functions in singapore gallery - Create, Edit & Delete

Offline

 

#8 12.09.2005 10:29

nkannan
BLOG:CMS Senior
Registered: 06.09.2005
Posts: 62

Re: Does Gallery Use Admin Login?

Chris:

Strange! I carried all these corrections, but when I try to delete or suspend a user I get the following message:

Admin message:
  An error occurred: Username not recognised

However, I can create a user!

Where do I go wrong?

Kannan


Eager to learn

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson

TOPlist